Difference between revisions of "Hac 2007 II"

From HaskellWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(added self)
Line 20: Line 20:
 
* Rickard Nilsson (ricky)
 
* Rickard Nilsson (ricky)
 
* Tim Chevalier (Binkley) (not sure yet)
 
* Tim Chevalier (Binkley) (not sure yet)
  +
* Neil Mitchell (ndm) - I'll be at IFL, but may be able to meet up for a bit of hacking
   
 
Please also include other information you think might be useful, e.g. how long you would like to spend at the Hackathon.
 
Please also include other information you think might be useful, e.g. how long you would like to spend at the Hackathon.

Revision as of 23:15, 10 July 2007

Hac icon

Please add yourself to this list if you are potentially interested in being part of a Hackathon colocated with Haskell Workshop and ICFP 2007 (i.e. in Freiburg, Germany, around the end of September/beginning of October).

  • Ian Lynagh (Igloo)
  • Duncan Coutts (dcoutts)
  • Malcolm Wallace (malcolmw)
  • Don Stewart (dons)
  • Lennart Kolmodin (kolmodin)
  • Pepe Iborra (mnislaih)
  • Simon Marlow (JaffaCake)
  • Ben Lippmeier (benl23)
  • David Himmelstrup (Lemmih)
  • Björn Bringert (bringert)
  • David Waern (waern)
  • Rickard Nilsson (ricky)
  • Tim Chevalier (Binkley) (not sure yet)
  • Neil Mitchell (ndm) - I'll be at IFL, but may be able to meet up for a bit of hacking

Please also include other information you think might be useful, e.g. how long you would like to spend at the Hackathon.

Dates

In terms of dates, IFL immediately preceedes HW, which immediately preceeds ICFP, so the best might be to go for the weekend Fri-Sun afterwards. This gives a days rest after a week's conferences, or CUFP for the diehards, on the Thursday.

An alternative might be to run the Hackathon in parallel with IFL (or ICFP), but this might result in some people who want to go not being able to make much of it.

Hopefully this table will help us pick a date. Please only use initials or something similarly small (and unique) to avoid the table becoming too wide.

Date Other events People who the day is bad for Notes
Mon 24 Oct
Tue 25 Oct
Wed 26 Oct
Thu 27 Sep IFL Probably the best days
Fri 28 Sep IFL Probably the best days
Sat 29 Sep IFL Probably the best days
Sun 30 Sep HW [too many people]
Mon 1 Oct ICFP [too many people]
Tue 2 Oct ICFP [too many people]
Wed 3 Oct ICFP [too many people]
Thu 4 Oct CUFP
Fri 5 Oct Erlang, ML
Sat 6 Oct
Sun 7 Oct
Mon 8 Oct

Potential topics for a group hack

Add ideas here for which you think hacking together as a group (rather than individually) would be beneficial.

  • bytestring 1.0
  • bit layer on Data.Binary 1.0
  • Data.ByteString.Parallel
  • Lots of Cabal hacking still to be done
  • Bindings for <your favourite C library>
  • Haskell library for <your favourite task>

Previous Haskell hackathons